Posted in Life

Passage towards tranquility and prosperity : Hiking Trip

 

DCIM108GOPRO
It’s a broken piece of a boat maybe – Taken with Go Pro Hero 4 Session

 

On Saturday, I went on a quick hiking trip to debrief about what I did this week. I thought it would be a quick trip but the total time it took to hike up and hike back down the mountain was about 4 hours. I took a longer trail called Big Rock Trail, which eventually merged into the main trail leading to the mountain.

DCIM108GOPRO
Photo of Big Rock Trail – Go Pro Hero 4 Session

 

Why did I do this?

It was a quest for me to gain some confidence and to think about the things I’ve done the previous week. I needed to take some time off and be more organized. I needed to change my attitude so I can have a better personality and perception about life. #Add to dictionary! It was also to get out into nature and take some nature photos and practice landscape photography.

What did I learned?

As I hiked up the mountains I said hello to other hikers that were hiking as well. I practiced my vocals and was able to say hello, good morning, or good afternoon to people. I was also able to ask them how their day went. Improving my people skills slowly.

Things I regret not doing

Although I was able to talk to a few other hikers and backpackers, I would like to engage in small talk with them and find out information about where they are from and why they decided to go hiking at this time. I noticed a lot of people were taking pictures at the peak of the mountain, I would like to request to photograph them next time and maybe join in on the picture too. To be a part of a picture makes you an important figure.

DCIM108GOPRO
Littering is bad, so don’t do it!

 

Tips I would like to give:

  • Bring water/snacks to stay hydrated
  • Sunscreen is a must
  • Bring a book with you to keep you busy (hiking is time consuming)
  • Practice your smile to strangers
  • Wear comfortable cloths/shoes (I wear long pants and long sleeve sweater so I don’t scrape myself or pick up poison ivy).
  • It will get hot, and you will sweat
  • If you hike alone, be careful (check your surroundings every time – Krav maga style)

Shoes: If you are hiking, try not to wear shoes that hurt your feet. I was wearing some boots that didn’t fit me really well so I had trouble going back down. I have small blisters on my feet now, but hopefully it will heal by next week.

Book: Hiking also takes a lot of time so bring a book with you. I brought a small life skill book with me to kill time while I was hiking. Of course always pay attention to your surroundings so you don’t get jumped by mountain lions, snakes or thugs. Don’t worry about me I know what I’m doing!

I should go hiking every weekend huh?

One minute video Footage and Mushroom Photos coming soon!

Thank you for reading!

 

Author:

I am a wandering soul! I enjoy traveling and adventure. I am mostly on WP to read stories from other fellow adventurers! I read to seek information and learn about life to understand more about human relations. Feel free to follow and comment :).

Leave a Reply

